D – Dedication: Write With All Your Heart

Writing, even as a hobby requires an abundance of dedication. It is something that I had severely lacked before getting the motivation to finish my MS early in my starting it. (Motivation is definitely another important component, but we’ll visit that at another time.)

It wasn’t until I decided that I wanted to finish that story that I finally dedicated myself to doing it. And then after I finished it, I lost that dedication to the craft. I stopped writing every day. I stopped taking notes, jotting down ideas, playing with language, and outlining storylines. And what happened? I lost my skills. My typing skills suffered hugely. I’ve forgotten so many ideas that I’ve had over the past two years of not writing. But worst of all, my confidence took a terrible dive. My lack of dedication to writing began to play with my identity of myself as a writer – an identity which was bolstered by the intensity of my work on my MS.

While I know that this floundering happens to all of us at one time or another – whether it’s because of the disappointment of rejection, the stagnation of writer’s block, or lack of confidence as in my case – I have had to make a concerted effort to rededicate myself to my work and regain the confidence I once had. Luckily, the community of bloggers, and especially those of you who take the time to read this, have been a large part of rebuilding my confidence. So thank you for reading. I will remember you in my dedication whenever that first book gets published!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under blogging, writing

2 responses to “D – Dedication: Write With All Your Heart

  1. Hi! I do understand. My book is finished but awaiting another round of edits and I just can’t bring myself to do them.
    I’ve been given lots of advice on how to get my mojo back. I find just some time helps. Doing what I love helps, too. Reading and watching movies. Those two things always get me excited to write again.
    Keep going. Keep moving forward.
    You may want to join us in the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. They’re a really great group of bloggers. Post the first Wednesday of every month and there is a FB page and a webpage.
    Go here to check it out:
    http://alexjcavanaugh.blogspot.com/p/the-insecure-writers-support-group.html
    Heather M. Gardner
    The Waiting is the Hardest Part
    Stormy’s Sidekick
    Blogging from A to Z April Challenge Co-Host

    • Jennifer Marshburn

      Thanks. I saw that on the AtoZ list, but hadn’t got over to visit. There are so many that keep catching my eye! Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

