Two heads are better than one… and fifty!

Joining a forum to get help on my query letter was a great idea. I love the community, and have gotten so much help on my letter. It’s really coming together, and I think it’s getting tighter and tighter. It’s very reassuring to know that other people are going through the same thing I am.

But gracious! I am officially working on my ninth revision, and after the last round of feedback I got, I wonder if it will ever end. I got some excellent suggestions that ran the gamut of combining sentences and redundancy to individually commenting on each sentence with a change or a strikethrough. What I’ve taken away from this is that I am either very close to finished or months away. I’ve begun to wonder if I should just do one more revision and then start sending the letters out, if for no other reason to save my sanity.

But I do want it to be the best sell it can possibly be. And the only way I’m going to get it there is through revisions and edits and suggestions. And these people really do know what they’re talking about. Some of them have been published, most of them are struggling with the revising their own letters, and all of them are writers, so there is no doubt in my mind that this forum is essential to getting representation. On the other hand, with so many heads together there is bound to be repetition and over-analysis. And yet, I know that the letter is not ready. It feels ready, but there is definitely something lacking. What is it? Voice, “stakes”, specifics? I wish I knew. Oh, God, how I wish I knew!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

